Online Nomination Started For ICT Award 2021 In 11 Different Categories


The online nomination (application) for the sixth edition of the ICT Award has started from today, i.e. Ashar 8, 2078 (accordingly, June 22, 2021). ICT Award is the largest tech award in Nepal which is organized by ‘Living with ICT’ in collaboration with various government and private organizations. The main objective of distributing these awards is to develop and expand the information and communication sector of the country. Currently, applicants can register for ICT Award 2021 nomination in 11 different categories. The online application for the ICT Award 2021 will be open till Shrawan 16 (July 31).

Last year, the first wave of Covid-19 had badly affected the country and the event was postponed. Despite the postponement of most events last year, the winners of 12 categories were honored at a special event at the Soaltee Hotel on December 23, 2020. The nomination and selection process of the ICT Award 2020 was advanced through a virtual medium. It has been reported that most of the selection committee meetings of this year’s ICT Awards will also be virtual as well.

Online Nomination Started For ICT Award 2021 In 11 Different Categories 2

In the recent few days, Nepal has seen a steady decline in Corona Virus cases. The government also eased the lockdown by relieving a few prohibitory orders. Considering this, the organizers have opened the online applications for the ICT Award 2021 nomination. About two dozen jury and advisors have been chosen for the ICT Award selection process. Interested individuals, companies, products, or organizations in 11 different categories can apply till 16th Shrawan, 2078. Competitors themselves or anyone else can register online nominations for the award. In order to be nominated for the award, an individual needs to go to the website and select the relevant category and fill the form.

About the Awards

Among the 11 different categories, Startup ICT Award, Product ICT Award, Rising Student ICT Award are the awards categories related to innovations and startups whereas Pioneer ICT Award, Nepali Diaspora ICT Award, Entrepreneur ICT Award, and Media Person ICT Award are given to the individuals. Likewise, the awards given to the government and private organizations include Digital Education ICT Award (Public Sector), Digital Education ICT Award (Private Sector), Digital Governance ICT Award (Public Sector), and Digital Governance ICT Award (Private Sector).

“ICT Award is a campaign to explore possibilities and excellence in the field of communication and technology. It is the most reliable and fairest of the awards held in Nepal”

– Razan Lamsal, Coordinator of the organizing comittee

ICT Award History and Now

Started in 2016, ICT Awards have so far honored more than 50 individuals, organizations, companies, and products in various categories. Last year’s Huawei ICT Award 2020 received more than 400 online applications.

Beginning this year, a jury team of more than 12 individuals will select the winner in different stages conducting different selection processes for 3 months. This step has been taken in order to make the selection process of the award more systematic and fairer. After 3 rounds of selection in the Startup, Product, Student Star Innovation category, public voting will be conducted by declaring the top 5. Similarly, In the other genres, 4 different stages of virtual selection and field visits will also be conducted.

Online Nomination Started For ICT Award 2021 In 11 Different Categories 3

Who can apply in which category?

1. Startup ICT Award

Any company which has been registered and operating in accordance with the prevailing laws of Nepal. Companies registered during the last 3 years can apply in this category. Last year, Cryptogen Nepal Pvt. Ltd. was the winner in this category.

2. Product ICT Award

Any IT products developed by Nepali that have been made public from Baisakh 2077 to mid-Chaitra 2078. Last year CPFDS AML & KYC Management System was the winner.

3. Rising Star Innovation ICT Award

Any research, innovation, and projects prepared by college and university students and youths under 30 years of age. Last year, St. Xavier’s College’s Student ‘Sanchai Chhau’ won the award in this category.

4. Pioneer ICT Award

Any veteran who has made outstanding contributions in the field of information and communication technology. Last year, Nilkantha Upreti was honored with this award.

5. Nepali Diaspora ICT Award

Any person of Nepalese origin who is living abroad and contributing in the field of information technology of the country. Last year, Nepali Gaurav Raj Upadhyaya working at Amazon received the award.

6. Entrepreneur ICT Award

Nepali entrepreneurs who are active in the field of information technology can apply for this award. Last year, Vinay Bohara, Managing Director of Vianet, was the winner in this category.

7. Woman ICON ICT Award

The Woman Icon ICT Award is aimed at Nepalese women working in the field of information technology. Last year, Prof. Timila Yami Thapa was honored with this category.

8. Digital Education ICT Award (Public Sector)

The Digital Education ICT Award is given to the government and community educational institutions with the objective of encouraging the education sector to become digital and technology-friendly. Last year, Budhanilkantha School received an award in this category.

9. Digital Education ICT Award (Private Sector)

Private schools, colleges, and educational institutions will be able to register nominations for this category. This category was added only this year and applicants register for the ICT Award 2021 nomination in this category too.

10. Digital Governance ICT Award (Public Sector)

Successful government agencies, bodies, departments or municipalities can apply for nominations in this category by digitizing government services and facilities to provide technology-friendly services to the citizens. Last year, the Inland Revenue Department received the Digital Governance ICT Award.

11. Digital Services ICT Award (Private Sector)

Any private sector organizations, limited companies, or companies serving the public can register nominations in this category. Besides IT and software companies, other service-oriented private sector companies will also be able to participate in this category, which was added from this year.

Also Read: Tootle And Pathao To Resume Their Ride-Sharing Services From Tomorrow


About Author

Currently a final year student at Islington College, Dipesh Duwal is a passionate and quick learner who wishes to learn something new every day. When not writing, he is busy reviving his life energy through books.

Leave A Reply